Everything stays down where it’s wounded

THE weird just got weirder and the unexplained became unexpected… and we are truly spooked.

Before I begin I must refer new readers of this blog to three related postings I have made in the past month: 21 October: There’s no exit in any direction… except the one that you can’t see with your eyes , 2 November: Something is happening, but you don’t know what It Is  and 4 November: Nothing that would pass inspection… just thinking of a series of dreams .

So I now bring you up to the present… items have continued to be unexpectedly dropped in our Drop Spirit Zone since the last posting on a regular basis. The droppings have almost gone without notice as we have become used to them.

That is until this morning…

At 8.45am my wife, Gill, and I were drinking mugs of coffee while finishing our breakfast in our kitchen. I was sitting on one side of our old pine table and Gill was sitting three feet away left of me. We were talking blandly about the day ahead.

Suddenly, and without warning, Gill’s almost full mug of hot coffee leapt upwards in her hand and spilled down her clothes, scalding her lap. I looked at her amazed and she returned the look with an added look of fear in her eyes.

Together we mopped up the spilt coffee and checked she was not badly scalded.

I commented: “Do you realise you are sitting in the Drop Spirit Zone?”

“Yes,” she replied. “It was like some small hand suddenly pushed my mug upwards.”

A few seconds before the incident Gill had just finished eating the last piece of bread on the table.

A few weeks ago I discovered that our cottage lies west adjacent to a former rectory whose foundations date back to the 15th century, together with an ancient family burial ground.

This morning I made another amazing discovery: our town is the only town in the county on an original Roman site.  Archaeological excavations in the 1980s unearthed a selection of burial vases on land adjacent south of our cottage, below the foundations of a fort. Experts believe this land is a 2nd century Roman burial site.

So it seems our 19th century cottage was built right between two ancient burial plots!

Oh, and the recurring dream about little Edith continues.

Answers on a postcard please….

Author: seagullnic

Writer, editor, lecturer and part-time musician. Passions in life: my family, Bob Dylan, music of many genres, Brighton and Hove Albion FC, cooking plus good food and wine.

8 thoughts on “Everything stays down where it’s wounded”

  1. Like I said before, I think it is another dimension, and you have stepped into the loop somehow, where the ‘movie,’ is played in certain conditions. Hope your wife is OK and will not be put off living there. 🙂

      1. Then it will all settle down I am sure. I love reading what is going on though. It is so interesting and gets me wondering…….

        How are things? Good I hope. Did you read the book yet?

        I have been reading your posts with interest and I shall comment as soon as life gets back to normal here…been away visiting mother and supporting whilst her brother is critically ill in a coma, so things a bit hectic. Enjoy your week 🙂

      2. Thanks Jane… have read your stories and my 11-year-old son currently has the Kindle and is reading it all. Very good indeed.
        Hope family things settle down and matters improve.
        Nic x

  2. I would view the activity as exciting and maybe a little spirit just ‘attention seeking’ maybe you could get hold of a ‘spirit box’ and ask some questions – how exciting – who knows what you would find out – enough of a story for a book I’m betting! 🙂

  3. To add some perspective to this: Over one dozen items have been dropped in our Drop Spirit Zone by FOUR different people over a period of four and half months. In many cases it felt as if the item was being pushed uopwards out of our hands. Nothing has been dropped elsewhere in the house by anyone.

Leave a Reply

