Shannon

Your blue eyes linger

With your impish grin

Your dark hair wavers

The joy that’s within

5,000 days is too long my girl

Much too long

Time to come home

At the end of this song

 

You play in the meadow

With sun in your hair

You shout at your sister

With barely a care

5,000 days is too long my girl

Much too long

Time to come home

At the end of this song

 

Your voice resonates

In the caverns of my mind

Your tears wash away

What was left behind

5,000 days is too long my girl

Much too long

Time to come home

At the end of this song

 

You run over the sand

Your buckets to fill

We sit and watch blithly

From the side of the hill

5,000 days is too long my girl

Much too long

Time to come home

At the end of this song

 

We walk the old wall

Along by the farm

You scream with laughter

Safe in my arm

5,000 days is too long my girl

Much too long

Time to come home

At the end of this song

 

Now 11 years have passed

The memories remain

It’s time to come home

It’s the end of the game

5,000 days is too long my girl

Much too long

Time to come home

It’s the end of the song

 

 

Author: seagullnic

Writer, editor, lecturer and part-time musician. Passions in life: my family, Bob Dylan, music of many genres, Brighton and Hove Albion FC, cooking plus good food and wine.

Leave a Reply

