Poem: The night awakes

Last night I was woken by a scream

It came to me from someone else’s dream

The dark it leapt in echoes across the room

My fears stood in shadows before the half lit moon

And when I closed my eyes

The night was gone too soon

You lay asleep with your head against my arm

I held you tight to keep you safe from harm

Outside the wind it whistled softly in the trees

An owl it screeched on the lonely autumn breeze

And when I closed my eyes

I heard the rattle of your keys

So stand back you dark shadows of my past

What you gain now we know will never last

Don’t play games to hurt my family or my son

For the winner here still has a race to run

And when I close my eyes

The loser has now won

Author: seagullnic

Writer, editor, lecturer and part-time musician. Passions in life: my family, Bob Dylan, music of many genres, Brighton and Hove Albion FC, cooking plus good food and wine.

Leave a Reply

