Proverbial St Patrick’s Day

Evil succeeds when the good do nothing

I now know those words are true

I hate you for what you did to me

It came right out the blue

So how do you sleep?

How do you smile?

How do you live?

Just for a while

Patriotism is the last refuge

To which the scoundrel clings

I hate you for what you did to me

Where the lonely nightjar sings

So how do you sleep?

How do you smile?

How do you live?

Just for a while

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer

That’s what they all do say

I hate you for what you did to me

There are no shades of grey

So how do you sleep?

How do you smile?

How do you live?

Just for a while

A picture is worth a thousand words

On my newspaper’s own front page

I hate you for what you did to me

Can you feel my inner rage?

So how do you sleep?

How do you smile?

How do you live?

Just for a while

Fortune I am told favours the bold

Who keep their blade quite clean

I hate you for what you did to me

Now your motives can be seen

So how do you sleep?

How do you smile?

How do you live?

Just for a while

You can lead your horse to water

But you cannot make him drink

I hate you for what you did to me

There is no time to think

So how do you sleep?

How do you smile?

How do you live?

Just for a while

There is no direction home

For Miss Lonely and her squire

I hate you for what you did to me

We’ll now take it to the wire

So how do you sleep?

How do you smile?

How do you live?

Just for a while

Actions speak louder than any words

I was taught that once before

I hate you for what you did to me

I am now waiting at your door

So how do you sleep?

How do you smile?

How do you live?

Just for a while

Author: seagullnic

Writer, editor, lecturer and part-time musician. Passions in life: my family, Bob Dylan, music of many genres, Brighton and Hove Albion FC, cooking plus good food and wine.

Leave a Reply

