The Question of Suffering

Truly wonderful and thought provoking piece. Recommended read 😊

Poetry for Palestine

 

This is an excerpt from a dialogue (through exchange of emails) written to my friend Sam, when he asked me about suffering

http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article18555.htm

http://www.haloscan.com/comments/tf2777/article18555_htm/#190357

The Question of Suffering

 

How could an Intelligent Being allow such cruelty?

A most valid, most important, and most relevant question.

 

To start with, I am afraid that by talking about this topic, it would be very difficult to be objective. We won’t be able to discuss it from a purely scientific perception.

We can’t -even if we wanted to- be objective; as this issue entails feelings, emotions, philosophy, personal experience. Therefore I find that –here- I can’t be anything other than subjective; reflecting on my own personal life and my personal experiences.

 

The most negative occurrences in the life of a human being can be summarized as such: physical pain, emotional pain (sorrow), and fear.

 

Contemplating on my own life…

View original post 1,301 more words

Author: seagullnic

Writer, editor, lecturer and part-time musician. Passions in life: my family, Bob Dylan, music of many genres, Brighton and Hove Albion FC, cooking plus good food and wine.

Leave a Reply

