Life Is Brief

I carried you in my arms

On that long hot summer’s day

Under the waxing crescent moon

I promised I would stay

Twenty-one years have now passed

Since your sapphire eyes

Looked into mine

Twenty-one years under a darkening sky

Your reflection does still shine

 

Grey hair tumbles into crow’s feet lines

Tears smart memories

As age defines

Tears of pain, tears of grief

I’m so alone

And life is brief

 

I cuddled you in my arms

On a frosting winter’s night

You held me tight and smiled

Before I gave up the fight

Twenty-one years have now passed

Since your little hand

Fell softly into mine

Twenty-one years under a darkening sky

Your reflection does still shine

 

Grey hair tumbles into crow’s feet lines

Tears smart memories

As age defines

Tears of pain, tears of grief

I’m so alone

And life is brief

 

I said goodbye and kissed your cheek

On the last time that we met

And cried a veil as I drove away

How can I ever forget

Twenty-one years have now passed

Since your gentle laugh

Made life seem sublime

Twenty-one years under a darkening sky

Your reflection does still shine

 

Grey hair tumbles into crow’s feet lines

Tears smart memories

As age defines

Tears of pain, tears of grief

I’m so alone

And life is brief

 

(With reference to Bob Dylan’s Tears of Rage)

Author: seagullnic

Writer, editor, lecturer and part-time musician. Passions in life: my family, Bob Dylan, music of many genres, Brighton and Hove Albion FC, cooking plus good food and wine.

Leave a Reply

