Letter demanding full refund of £25 Poll Tax from the Labour Party

THIS is further to my Appeal against my Expulsion from the Labour Party – an open letter, published seven days ago. You may read my appeal letter here.

 

20 September 2016

 

WITHOUT PREJUDICE

 

Iain McNicol

General Secretary of the Labour Party

The Labour Party

Head Office

Southside

105 Victoria Street

London

SW1E 6QT

 

 

Dear Mr McNicol

 

Membership Number: Lxxxxxxx

 

I write further to my email/letter of 13 September 2016 (copy attached) and my appeal against expulsion from the Labour Party.

 

While I still hope my appeal will be successful and I will be reinstated to the party I love, I realise that as of today, it is too late for me to vote in the current Leadership election.

 

I had been a member of the Labour Party from 1989-2003. I rejoined with letter of acceptance and membership card on 18 July 2016 and began paying monthly membership fees. You then accepted my £25 Poll Tax payment as a Registered Supporter on 28 July to allow me to vote in the Leadership election.

 

Your action to expel me, of 7 September 2016, and your acceptance of full membership and supporter status are all retrospective of the alleged offence of 28 June 2016.

 

You therefore took my voting fee under false pretences.

 

I therefore demand a full refund of that £25 fee within the next 14 days.

 

Yours sincerely

 

 

 Nic Outterside

Author: seagullnic

Writer, editor, lecturer and part-time musician. Passions in life: my family, Bob Dylan, music of many genres, Brighton and Hove Albion FC, cooking plus good food and wine.

4 thoughts on “Letter demanding full refund of £25 Poll Tax from the Labour Party”

  1. This is on the lines of what I have advocated ever since the retrograde step initiated by the NEC after the appeal verdict. I too believe the monies raised prior to this being appealed were taken under false pretences and so was somewhat surprised no issue in relation to this was put forward during the appeal process.
    I have often tweeted that a £1 donation by each barred member would be enough to bring this issue to the Supreme Court. Based on the false representation promise the £25 gauranteed the vote.
    I trust and hope you will be successful in your quest. Your Leadership in this matter indicates to me you are a man of Principle. Just like Mr Corbyn

  2. Any luck? I never got a reply from them with regards to them snooping on my twitter and saying I could vote!? But they still have my £25 and I’m still angry

Leave a Reply

