Words for Friends #4

This is part of a new series of blogs entitled Words for Friends, in which I will try to acknowledge some people in my life for whom words of thanks are not nearly enough.

These living epitaphs to my true and lovely friends are published in a random order as fancy takes me.

 #4 Jude

I met Jude by something in this life we might call divine coincidence.

Jude had read a couple of my blog and Twitter postings about the sexual abuse I suffered as a young teenager and soon made friends via social media.

She is an intelligent young married mum of three lively children and is in a constant battle with social services over her ability to care for them. You see, she too had suffered similar extensive sexual abuse as a child and like me was struggling to find ways to express her emotions. And like me, that struggle has sometimes relied on self-medication.

She too has resorted to writing poetry as an escape valve for her continuing angst. Her poems are epic and written from the soul.

For more than a year we have been swapping our poems and our stories. Now she is writing her autobiography and I have promised to edit and publish it for her.

Jude is a precious fellow traveller and now an equally precious friend and confidante.

I am sure that she will not only survive, but flourish.

Author: seagullnic

Writer, editor, lecturer and part-time musician. Passions in life: my family, Bob Dylan, music of many genres, Brighton and Hove Albion FC, cooking plus good food and wine.

Leave a Reply

