Words for Friends #8

This is part of a new series of blogs entitled Words for Friends, in which I will try to acknowledge some people in my life for whom words of thanks are not nearly enough.

These living epitaphs to my true and lovely friends are published in a random order as fancy takes me.

#8 Sharon

I have known Sharon since 1991, but she has only known me for the last eight years!

I met her via a TV screen and an old VHS video player while I lived in a loch-side cottage on the wild, west coast of Scotland.

Life really was wild and devoid of modern culture in Knapdale, Mid Argyll, without TV reception and the nearest cinema some 45 miles away.

So to stay in touch with the late 20th century, my partner and I would rely on monthly trips to Glasgow – some 102 miles away – to buy a clutch of videos of which ever movies took our fancy.

One such video was called Clockwise  a hilarious 1985 British comedy starring John Cleese and co-starring a then unknown actress.

Sharon turned my head. She was funny, beautiful, slightly quirky and most of all reminded me of my first teenage girlfriend!

So it came as a surprise when some 17 years later I stumbled across her on Facebook and realised that we had mutual friends – largely due to my time at drama college in the late 1970s.

A friendship grew slowly via social media, emails and telephone chats and blossomed with our shared experiences, values and a constant battle against injustice and abuse. We also share very similar humour and a mutual disdain for bullies and deceit.

I now consider Sharon a close personal friend and someone whom I trust implicitly.

Thank you for returning that friendship.

Author: seagullnic

Writer, editor, lecturer and part-time musician. Passions in life: my family, Bob Dylan, music of many genres, Brighton and Hove Albion FC, cooking plus good food and wine.

Leave a comment

The Godly Chic Diaries

BY GRACE THROUGH FAITH

GrowL

Welcome.

See Behind The Veil

A quest to find the hidden pieces of truth

Split.Mind.Poetry

Odd... Unusual?.... a little too usual!

Fissured Reveries

An attempt to bring together my scrambled thoughts.

In parallel lines

Memories from 55 years following Brighton & Hove Albion

A Bargain for the Moon

Lifestyle Music Feminism Study

sideshowtog

Just another WordPress.com site

gillyroots

Post Modern Cinderella - An Autobiographical Narrative

Lucy Kaufman

Tales From the Horse's Ass

Lou Write Travel

Travel tales and thoughts about life.

The Fruit of Curiosity

... an occasional - very occasional! Blog ...

HANDS OFF CASTLEDOWN!

Parents and community against the planned takeover of our school by ARK Academies

SKWAWKBOX

News, politics, insights, inside information from the left

Nagara

Polemics, Notes and Essays from a Concerned Citizen

Words and Fictions

Jessica Norrie on writing, books and language - in her own words.

Declaration Of Opinion

{Mark Catlin's Blog} Agitate, Educate and Organise

words that click

Just another WordPress.com site

My Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Brandscapes's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Thoughts of a Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

Musings from someone who is NOT a Sheeple...

dainagregory

Just another WordPress.com site

permaramblings

Rambling on about life, kindness, politics, education, permaculture and anything else that seems important.

Risveglio

A view from the Dales

stewilko's Blog

A place for my thoughts

Vernacularisms

Notes from Belfast

38DegreesGloucestershire

Help us protect Gloucestershire's NHS

Howard's House

Random thoughts and comments